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Prompt Payment Act 
 
Background 
 
On January 1st, 2017 the One-Penny Sales 
Surtax went into effect in Palm Beach County.  
This surtax will fund an estimated 1,625 new 
infrastructure projects totaling $1.35B for the 
county and municipalities over the next 10 
years.  With such a large influx of new 
business opportunities in our area, it is 
important that we ensure timely payment of 
all undisputed amounts owed to vendors in 
accordance with the Prompt Payment Act. 
 
Information 
 
Section 218.70 et seq., Florida Statutes, Local Government Prompt Payment Act, 
requires local governmental entities to:  

 Provide prompt vendor payments; 
 Provide interest on late payments; and, 
 Provide a dispute resolution process for payment of obligations.    

 
Construction Services 
  
If an agent1 must approve a construction payment request first, the payment is due 25 
business days after the date the invoice is stamped as received.2  If the payment request 
does not need an agent’s approval, the payment is due 20 business days after the date 
the invoice is stamped as received. 
 

                                                            
1 Agency must identify agent in the contract or within 10 days from the Notice to Proceed. 
2  Payment for purchases other than construction services are calculated from the date a proper invoice is received.  If a proper invoice 
is not received, then the receipt date is the latest of the date of delivery and acceptance, the date services are completed, the date 
rental period begins, or the date as agreed to per contract. Payment is due 45 days after receipt date.  Payments not made within the 
time specified earn interest from 30 days after the due date at the rate of 1% per month.  The vendor must invoice for any interest 
accrued in order to receive the interest payment. 
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TIP: Direct Agents to review and/or process pay applications/invoices as the highest 
priority task assigned.  
 
TIP:    Educate  all  persons  in  the  payment  authorization  process  that  construction 
payments should have a high processing priority due to the magnified impact of non‐
timely payments on subcontractors.3   

  
For construction services, the local government is also required to reject improper 
invoices within 20 business days in writing and with the specific corrective action 
necessary.  Upon receipt of the corrected invoice the payment is due within 10 business 
days.  
 
Notwithstanding the above, Prompt Pay also requires that if a local governmental entity 
disputes a portion of a payment request or invoice, the undisputed portion shall be paid 
according to the 25/20 business day requirements listed above. 
 
Prompt Pay also has a number of other provisions that a local government entity should 
be aware of.  
 

 Contract must provide for development of a single list of items required to 
render complete, satisfactory and acceptable for the construction services 
purchased. Timelines for satisfaction vary based on value of project.  

 While the practice of retainage is not required, if a retainage provision is 
included in a contract, it must comply with the requirements of the Statute.   

 Interest on construction payments due in accordance with the time periods 
specified earn interest at 1% per month or per the contract, whichever is 
greater. 

 Section 218.76 (2)(a), Florida Statutes, specifies that payment disputes shall 
be finally determined by the local governmental entity pursuant to a dispute 
resolution procedure established by the entity. Such procedure must provide 
the proceedings regarding the dispute commence within 45 days after the 
payment request date or proper invoice received, and the entity’s final decision 
must be made within 60 days.  These procedures are not subject to Chapter 
120, Florida Statutes (Administrative Procedures Act). 

 
Recommendation 
 
We recommend that local governments review their 
policies, and practices in light of this information and 
take appropriate actions.  
 
 
 

                                                            
3 Prompt Pay also extends from the prime contractor subcontractors requiring the prime to pay subcontractors and suppliers within 
10 days after receipt of payment.  Subcontractors must pay their subcontractors and suppliers within 7 days of payment.   


